This “Personal Chef” App is an Awesome Concept

kitchensurfing1.jpg

The app is called Kitchen Surfing

It’s an app where a chef will come to you, cook, clean, and leave all in 30 minutes. He brings all his cooking appliances, and ingredients too.

rock clapping.gif

Just a fantastic idea. I love it. I have some doubts about the actual logistics, pricing, menu options, and scalability of ‘Kitchen Surfing’ but it’s still an awesome concept.

Quick Questions that popped in my head:

  • Where do you find the chefs?
  • What do you charge? One price?
  • What do you cook? Customizable?
  • What if the food sucks?
  • What if you get robbed?
  • What if they break something?

The one thing I have issue with is that they say it’s “under $30.00” a person. So what, does that mean it’s $29.99 per person!??! That may be a good value for a place like NYC or San Francisco, but in my neck of the woods, you can get a pretty nice steak dinner at a restaurant for 60 bucks + tip. That brings up another question: do you tip this personal chef?? I would assume that you do, but is it like Uber where tip is included and you have the option to pay additional at the end? What if the chef burns your food? Are you eligible for a discount if it tastes awful/under-cooked?kitchensurfing.png

It just seems like so many things could go wrong, not to mention the fact that you’re letting a complete stranger into your home for a good amount of time. It doesn’t bother me, because I own nothing of value, but if I were an investment banker with a penthouse apartment in Manhattan, I’d be a little uneasy about opening my doors to some teenage chef from the local culinary institute down the street.

It will be very interesting to see where this app goes in the next few months/years. I see it going 1 of 2 ways:

  1. The app becomes a massive hit and becomes an industry leader and pioneer in the”on-demand at home food service”space . (I’d say about 5% shot)
  2. The app struggles to grow and acquire the necessary investment needed to become relevant, and it eventually dies before getting any traction. (I’d say about 95% chance)

Again, the idea is fantastic. There is a market for this. Hopefully they can make it more affordable because the $30/price point is going to be tough to get widespread adoption outside of big cities. We’ll keep an eye on this app to see how it progresses, but I wanted you to know about it early just in case it becomes the next huge thing.

k.jpg

If you’ve used this app (or know someone who has) hit me up on Twitter @Salsastoolie and let me know how it went.

One thought on “This “Personal Chef” App is an Awesome Concept”

Leave a Reply

