As a Man- You Should Learn to Grill the Proper Steak

A buddy told me to come over and grill some steaks the past weekend. Long story short, he cooked the worst tasting most overcooked steak I’d had in my life, and he thought it was delicious. I didn’t tell him to his face, but I was secretly embarrassed for him and his girlfriend.

ny strip steak1All dudes should know how to grill a basic fucking steak for fucks sake. He’s a cool guy, but he lost a lot of respect from me with that abortion of meal. I want to make sure that this doesn’t happen to you, so I’ve put together a simple blog about how easy it is to cook the best steak in your life. I tell people all the time: Learn to cook. Learning to cook is like fishing with Dynamite when it comes to dating women. You don’t even have to be that good, but as a man, you should know how to grill a proper steak.

Here’s my favorite method I’ve perfected over the years:

  1. Get a nice cut of meat. My go to is a Sirloin or a NY Strip. Find a piece with some nice marble. Most grocery stores will sell single steaks for cheap.
  2. Pre-heat the grill. Get that shit nice an hot.
  3. Let the steak sit at room temp for at least 10 minutes and season the steak with JUST salt and pepper (both sides). not too light, but not too much either.
  4. Slap the steak on the grill, and only flip once during the cook.
    1. This is the trickiest part to get right, and will take some practice to perfect, but you can do it. Typically, a 1 pound strip steak I’ll do 4 mins on one side and 3 on the next. The trick is to watch the steak after the first flip and take the temp with a meat thermometer (if you have one).For med-rare I take that bitch off the grill as soon as it hits 130-135 degrees. (If you don’t have a thermometer, get the one that I mentioned in this blog right now- it’s lifechanging)
    2. Worst case scenerio, use the “touch test” to cook to your liking (Med-Rare is the best IMO)touch test.png
  5. Once the steaks off the grill, let it rest for about 5-10 minutes to finish cooking (Do NOT cut the steak yet). Use this time to cook your sides. garlic butter.jpg
  6. My special secret, I usually melt a little butter and mix it with a dash of garlic powder in a small pan, and pour it over the steak while it’s resting for that 5-10 minutes after the cook. Not too much though, just a light brushing to keep it juicy. This makes a world of difference and makes your steak taste like restaurant quality when it’s ready to go.
  7.  Enjoy that with some decent red wine and have yourself an evening.
  8. Netflix and Chill.

A while back, I laid out my blueprint for the absolute perfect first date, and now you can use this steak recipe to seal the deal. Don’t say I never taught you anything.

If you liked this blog, check out this little more advanced but equally impressive recipe for my beer can chicken.

guide to da steak.jpg

wellness chart.jpg

grade.jpg

6 thoughts on “As a Man- You Should Learn to Grill the Proper Steak”

Leave a Reply

