The Ultimate Christmas Classic Movies: Mount Rushmore

mount rushmore of Christmas Movies.png

3 Categories of Holiday Classics for you to digest:

  1. Mount Rushmore (Tier 1): Top 4 Must Watch Holiday Films
  2. Honorable Mentions (Tier 2): Next 5 Holiday Movies.
  3. Wildcard/Unknown (Tier 3): Movies that seem popular, but I have no opinion on one way or the other.

Mount Rushmore (Tier 1)

These are my holiday staples. Every year I gotta watch these four Christmas movies at some point during the season.

Home Alone is one of the greatest, if not the greatest, movies of our time. It came out at the perfect time for me as a 90’s kid, and I’ll always remember that it used to be televised for years on Thanksgiving night. I’d always watch it, and then get absolutely amped for the holiday season.  That opening theme may be the most electric atmospheric tune of all time: Do do do do do do dooo dooo, do do do do do do doooooo.  Hit Play and let that music take you through the rest of this blog (right around 1:44 will send you straight to Goose Bump City)

Bad Santa came outta nowhere to be one of the funniest, yet heartfelt Christmas comedies in years. I love the concept of the movie. A drunk, deadbeat, piece of shit criminal Santa clause whose best friends are a midget and a fat kid. I’ve always been a huge Billy-Bob Thorton guy, so the fact that he’s the lead role in this flick takes the cake. He steals the show. There are a ton of one-liners that are quotable for days. This is a great movie to watch with your friends because you don’t have to pay much attention to enjoy it.

bad santa.jpg

Die Hard is an American classic. One of the very few movies that withstands the test of time. People will argue till they’re blue in the face that this isn’t a “Christmas Movie” but I’ll be damned if I let that keep it off the list. It’s a Christmas move plain and simple. John McClain is one of my favorite movie characters ever, and Bruce Willis acts like a grown up Keven McCallister. You can’t stop them, you can only hope to contain them. Carl Winslow is also a boss in this flick.

Elf. I remember being dragged to this in the theaters by some chick way back when it came out. I was pissed at first, but I couldn’t believed how much I ended up liking it. This movie brings back good memories of bringing girls over for “Elf and Chill” during the month of December back in my college days. This movie crushes almost every other holiday rom-com or chick flick. If I’m with the boys it’s Bad Santa all day every day, if I with a girl it’s Elf and hot coco all night.

Honorable Mentions (Tier 2)

Now here are the Movies that didn’t quite make the cut of the top 4 for me, but at least deserved some honorable mentions.

Charlie Brown Christmas: Keeping this off my Mount Rushmore was one of the more difficult decisions I’ve made in a while. There’s just something about those shitty hand drawn people that puts me in the holiday spirit. The music in this special is also fantastic. Stuck in your head for days. chuck b.jpgI found this on DVD in a bargain bin years ago, and I never go a holiday season without watching this at least once. Chuck Brown is an O.G.

The Grinch (cartoon version)- I was a little asshole as a kid and people in my family always called me the Grinch. This wasn’t really one of my favorite specials growing up, but I watched it so many times that it eventually broke me down. Now as a psudo-adult, I enjoy the message of the cartoon grinch and always make sure to catch it if they’re showing it on TV. Not a must watch like those top 5, but definitely up thereturbo man.

Jingle all the Way kinda sucks, but I love Arnold. Arnold makes this movie. ‘Guy looks for a toy’ is the whole premise of the movie, but it’s funny none the less.

The Santa Clause was another sneaky awesome movie. I believe there’s been about 2 or 3 sequels since the original and I’m guessing they all suck, but that first one was off the chain. I remember having a baby sitter as a kid who had a total of 4 VHS tapes at her house. Dumbo, Santa Clause, and 2 yoga videos. Needless to say, I watched the Santa Clause about 50 times too many, but I still enjoy it none the less.

Christmas Vacation was pretty good. I do think these vacation movies in general are always a little over-hyped by people, but the Christmas Vacation installment is the best in the franchise. Chevy Chase was at his best in those movies. There’s a bunch of memorable scenes, but I’ll always love the freak out scene, putting the tree through the window, or punting the lawn Santa.

punt.gif

 

Wildcard/Movies to Checkout     (Tier 3)

Other movies that I hear a lot about, but haven’t seen or taken the time to form an opinion on. Most of these are your standard holiday chick flicks and rom-coms.

Love Actually gets a lot of hype from chicks, but I’m not sure if I’ve ever seen it all the way through. i think it’s on Netflix.

The Holiday. Don’t know squat about this movie. Is it good?anna kendrick.jpg

Four Christmases. Hey it’s got Reese Witherspoon and Vince Vaughn
so that’s worth a peek in my book. I’ll have to watch that one this holiday season.

Happy Christmas. Two words- Anna Kendrick. Most def will watch this one at some point this holiday season.

The one I’m probably most stoked about though this year is actually called “The Night Before” and it’s in theaters this season.

night before.jpg

In summary, a great holiday season is made up of watching my Mount Rushmore 4, a couple Tier 2 flicks, and experimenting with one or two of my tier 3’s. Now that you have the blueprint, go out and have yourself a hell of a holiday season.

mount rushmore of Christmas Movies

Previously in the Mount Rushmore Blog Series:

Mount Rushmore #1. Biggest Hardos in the NFL

One thought on “The Ultimate Christmas Classic Movies: Mount Rushmore”

Leave a Reply

