Salsa’s TV Report: 2nd Edition

For a link to the my first TV Report: Click here.

This is the second edition of an ongoing series of blogs chronicling random television shows that I’ve been watching recently. Some of these shows are brand new, and some are old, but this’trimonthly’ TV Report is one of the my favorite blogs that I write on this site. Please keep in mind that I WONT INCLUDE ANY SPOILERS IN THIS BLOG. I will provide your with some broad perspective and analysis on a few shows, and whether or not I’d recommend them to you. I personally find it very difficult to find new shows to jump into, so hopefully this blog will help guide some of your TV watching decisions.

SOUTH PARK (Seasons 1-18): This show went from bad, to good, to bad, and back to good over the past 16 years, but it’s still one of the strongest shows of our generation.
south park
I’ve been watching South Park since I was in elementary school off and on throughout my life. It’s always been ‘hit or miss’ for me. Most episodes are worth a few chuckles and some good pop-culture references if anything else. A LONG time ago, I decided to go back to season 1 and re-watch all the episodes in order. The first 4 seasons were mostly garbage, but then the show started getting real good around season 5-6. The show hit a hot streak from season 5 to season 11 or 12, then it went back into the tank for a few seasons. Just recently started getting funny again around season 17-18. The most recent ones are pretty good. This show was perfect thing to fall asleep to, because I could toss on a couple episodes, lay my head down and drift off to sleep. This is probably the best list of the top 25 South Park episodes out there if your interested in checking out a few winners.

BOJACK HORSEMAN (Season 1 & 2): A hidden gem, and a surprisingly dynamic story line.
bojack
Shockingly good. I decided to give this show a chance after I saw people ranting and raving about it on Reddit, and I’m glad I did. I’m a guy who doesn’t particularly care for those ‘cartoon like’ shows (Simpsons, Archer, Rick and Morty, family guy etc.), but this one was very well done. Bojack Horseman is a surprising dark and depressing look at a once famous child star living in Hollywood. I haven’t ever seen a show quite like this, and that’s why I liked it so much. You shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, and you shouldn’t jusdge a netflix show by it’s thumbnail pic. This show is worth checking out, and make sure to give yourself 4-5 episodes before making a decision.

TRUE DETECTIVE (Season 2): You’ll have no clue what you watched after your done with this season.
true detective 2
I’ll keep this short because you’ve probably already seen the backlash on social media about the show for the past 3 months. The bottom line is that it just wasn’t very good. It was too confusing and the cast didn’t really fit their roles. Season 1 of TD was awesome, and set the bar way too high for season two. I didn’t vehemently hate it like a lot of other people, and I’d probably give it a 3.5/10 on the Salsa scale, which is disappointing because the first season was a solid 9/10.

LEGIT (Season 1 & 2): For lack of a better word, this show is straight up Legit.
legit
This show was another surprise to me. I actually really liked it. It revolves around the life of a comedian Jim Jefferies, and funny things that happen in his quest to live a more legitimate and fulfilling life. He’s a deeply flawed guy, but he actually comes off as a good dude most of the time. I actually like Jim Jefferies the comedian, so that made it an easier show to consume. This may be one of those shows that you love or you hate, but it’s worth investing in a few episodes to see if it’s up your alley.

WET HOT AMERICAN SUMMER (Season 1): Let Down City. The stars alone can’t even carry this trash-bag of a show and you’ll find the opinions on this show to be very polarizing.
wet hot american summer
What a let down. Stars upon stars upon stars in this Netflix original miniseries that follows a cult classic film from 2001. Just poorly done. It makes a lot of shitty references to the movie and they mirror each other well, I just didn’t like the plot, and it wasn’t really funny either. It had so much potential, but it just felt like it was really thrown together. My piece of advice is to watch the movie right before starting the TV Series, so you understand most of the references. I really wanted to like this show, but it sucked. Some people will tell you opposite, but they’re just sheep. Skip this hogwash and watch something else.

THE INBETWEENERS: (Season 1-3): Weird, raunchy, British comedy that’s not for everyone, but will provide you with a few chuckles none the less.
the inbetweeners
This show is all over the place. It’s a British comedy that follow 4 teenage outcasts on their quest to fit in with society. You never know what your going to get from episode to episode, and it’s kind of like watching a train wreck where you just can’t look away. Lots of awkward humor, throughout the series. It’s kind of an oddity because there’s 3 seasons on netflix with only 6 episodes per season, so you can binge through this really quickly. I’d recommend checking out season 1 to see if this is your sense of humor, and going from there. There’s also 2 more movies (also currently available on Netflix: Inbetweeners 1&2)

TRAILER PARK BOYS (Season 1-9): This show is funny, and will make you feel better about your life.
trailer-park-boys
I know I’ll sound like a broken record at this point, but this show is hilarious and I really liked it. I watched seasons 1-3 a while back, and thought it was just so-so, but then I picked it back up with season 4 recently, and I’m glad i did. The show chronicles the schemes of 3 idiots living in a trailer park. It kinda reminds me of the show “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia”, obviously not as great as Always Sunny, but it definitely had its moments. This is a Canadian show, so you may have to get used to the weird accents and shitty quality production of the earlier episodes, but the show has been on the air since 2001 and is still going strong in 2016. Very few shows last as long as they have, so major props to them. You can’t really go wrong with this show, so check it out.

ORANGE IS THE NEW BLACK (Season 3): Better than season 2, slightly worse than season 1.
oitnb3
I reviewed the first two seasons of OITNB in my fist TV Blog, but this review is for season 3 only. I must say that season 3 is much better than the 2nd season, because they went back to what worked in the 1st season, and added a smoking hot new female cast member (chick in the middle). This rebound season is worth a watch if you liked the first season of the show. Season three may give the franchise enough juice to squeeze out one more season in this Netflix original series. If they do, I bet season 4 is going to have a bunch of “shocking episodes” to reinvigorate interest in a dying franchise. This along with True Detective season 2 are shows I’d only watch if I had a ton of free time on my hands and nothing else to do.

SILICON VALLEY (Season 2): Easy watch, sometimes a roller-coaster ride, but easily worth your time.
silicon valley 2
I really like this show. If you read this site you know that I have a soft spot for technology and the world of tech start-ups, so this show is right up my alley. It’s not really that funny, but I feel like they do a great job of following the life of people involved in getting a startup company off the ground. The show did big ratings on HBO and they’re already in the process of filming season 3. Silicon Valley is a great watch with a lot of entertaining individual cast of characters.

MY NAME IS EARL (Season 1-4): Gets real old, real quick. Skip this show.
My-Name-is-Earl
I have a roommate who roped me into this one. He really likes the show, while I do not particularly care for it at all. I thought I’d like it, because it used to be a popular show about 10 years ago, and it’s about a couple of people from a trailer park. I was expecting something like Trailer Park Boys (which was awesome), but I ended up with a show like “Scrubs” in a trailer park. Each episode follows almost the exact same format, in which a former criminal tries to turn his life around by doing good things to make up for all the bad he’s done. There were a few decent episodes here and there, but this show is a major skip all together for a majority of people. Plus, Earl having the most punch-able face of all time did not make my viewing experience very enjoyable.

And there you have it. Some shows to keep you busy checking out for the next few months. I’ll see you in another 3 months or so with more recommendations. If you have any suggestions on shows you think I may like message me on Twitter @Salsastoolie

Archive Links:

Salsa TV Report: 1st Edition

Salsa TV Report: 2nd Edition  (you’re reading it)

3 thoughts on “Salsa’s TV Report: 2nd Edition”

Leave a Reply

