“The Cologne Blog”: Which New Cologne Should I Get?

Today we’ll examine 2 major points:

1. Are you a cologne guy?

2. If yes, what brand?

I’m a cologne guy. I like smelling good, and I’d consider myself to be a decently smelling man in general. The problem is, is that I often can’t decide which smell to go with. Right now I have about 4 different colones in my rotation, and I’m looking to add a 5th. For the record, I’ll usually wear cologne about 2-3 days a week (usually on dates & weekends).

Here are the colognes currently in my bathroom:

Curve (regular)- This was the stuff I used way back in my college days, and I seldom use it anymore. I feel like it gets a bad rap, but I always seem to get comments whenever I do put some on.

Burberry Brit- This stuff is real good. It’s a little pricey, but the smell lasts well into the evening. I wear this a bunch when going out to the bars. People seemed to like it for the most part. I like that it’s more of a subtle smell, and not overpowering.

Polo Red- This is my new go-to everyday wear. I really like this stuff. It’s pretty new to the market, and I wasn’t a big fan of polo blue or green. I’ve never tried polo black (heard good things), but the red is the jam. One thing that you should know about Polo cologne, is that anything labeled “polo sport” should not be worn. That stuff sucks. My grandma gave me a bottle of blue polo sport about 10 years ago, I used it once and never again.

Outlaw- This was a really random cologne that I sampled on vacation last summer. I bought it at a western boot outlet store, and I really like the stuff. It lasts for a long time, and it smells better as the day goes on. It’s a little strong when you first put it on, but I really like it as a change of pace smell.I’ll mix this in once in a while like curve, otherwise I’m using the Polo red or the Burberry Brit.

I’m now in need of a new smell because I’ve gotten tired of my rotation. I’m looking for something basic that will appeal to the masses. I’m not that picky when it comes to smell, so I’m going to do some research and see what I can dig up. I’ll probably go with whatever gets the most mentions across a few different sites.

Here are some suggestions i found:

Brobible: Creed Green Irish Tweed, Tom Ford Noir, Fierce Abercrombie and Fitch, Creed Aventus, Dior Homme Intense,Tom Ford Tuscan Leather

Barstool- I guess only “squids” wear cologne (Tom Ford, Tommy Bahamma, Drakkar Noir suggested)

Reddit- Open Question : What cologne turns you on? Aqua di gio, Lacoste essential, Kenneth Cole Black, Polo Black, Calvin Klein, burberry touch, versace blue jeans, armani code, Calvin Klein Obsession, Euphoria Men by Calvin Klein, Tommy by Hilfiger, Dolce and Gabanna Original Blue, Aqua di gio, polo double black, Givency play, Halson z-14, curve, Wood by Dsquared, Chanel Allure Homme Edition Blanche, YSL pour homme, Mount Blanc Legend, Lacoste essential, Versace eros, Armani Code, Kenneth Cole Reaction, Allure homme sport

top Google Article ranked- Aqua di gio, Polo Blue, Elizabeth Taylor Passion, Azzaro Chrome, Calvin Klein Eternity, Lucky number 6, Calvin Klein Obsession, Curve, Illicit, Angel Men, Polo Red, Dolce & Gabanna The One Sport, Abercrombie Fierce, Hugo Boss No. 6, Lacoste L!ve, Michale Kors for men, Invictus,  Burberry Brit, Varvatos Artisan, Guess Homme Blue, Ralph Lauren, Gucci Guilty, D&G Por Homme, spicebomb

Amazon best sellers- Guess Seductive, Aqua di gio, 212, Curve, Aspen by Coty, Inis the energy, Tommy, Happy by Clinique, Lucky you, Mambo, Bora Bora, Halston 1-12,

Cologne Buys- (for compliments) Creed Green Irish Tweed, Yves Saint Laurent La Nuit De L’homme, Creed Aventus, One Million Paco Rabanne, Dior Homme Intense, Le Male Jean Paul, A&F Fierce (for Best selling) Nautica Voyage, Acqua di gio, cool water, Guess seductive, Nautica Blue, Mount Blanc Legend, Paco Rabine 1 million,

…and holy shit i just listed a ton of different colognes.

I decided to head over to the mall to test a bunch out and see first hand which ones I like the best.  Here were the Top 5 that I tested:

1. YSL intense- this stuff was expensive and smelled awesome. Used some and it lasted forever.
ysl intense

2. Versace Eros- I really liked this stuff. Smelled better as the day went on
versace

3. Mont Blanc Legend- this stuff really surprised me. Very smooth.
mont blanc

4. Paco Rabanne 1 million- I really liked this, but only sprayed it on paper- not myself.
paco rabanne

5. Dior (something)- this was nice- the woman showing me said it was her favorite and a top seller.
dior

After doing all this research, I’ve concluded that the most popular cologne for men is Aqua Di Gio by Armani. I wasn’t the biggest fan, but many people do love it. Keep in mind that cologne is all about her, so make sure to get something that she’ll like. A good bottle will last you a long time, and less is more when wearing cologne. You have to be real careful not to wear too much.

pig pen

I dated a chick once who didn’t like cologne at all, so I never wore it when I was with her. I didn’t miss it, because I didn’t really need it. As a single dude in the city, it’s nice to have girls compliment you or ask what type of cologne your’re wearing. I think a majority of girls appreciate a good smelling dude as long as he doesn’t overdo it. I know some guys (and girls) that use way to much, and it’s never good.  They’ll dowse themselves and their hair in so much perfume/cologne that they’ll be walking in a cloud of smells looking like pig-pen from the Charlie Brown comics. No bueno.

As I’ve been reading up on popular colognes and talking to friends, I’m realizing that some people are really against wearing cologne.They’ll say it makes you a douchebag, it’s childish, it’s feminine, it’s immature, etc. I don’t get all that hate. If you don’t like it, don’t wear it- simple as that. I’m all for smelling like a man, and natural scent is the best scent, but you show me someone who doesn’t like to be complimented for smelling good and I’ll show you a liar.

2 thoughts on ““The Cologne Blog”: Which New Cologne Should I Get?”

Leave a Reply

