Salsa’s Trimonthly TV Report

QUICK NOTE: I WILL NOT WRITE ABOUT ANY SPOILERS, SO PLEASE DON’T WORRY ABOUT THAT AND ENJOY THE BLOG! THANKS!

I love TV. I watch a lot of TV. As a blogger, it would be journalistically irresponsible to not report my thoughts on the shows I’ve watched over the past few months. Today, I’m starting a new feature here, where I will blog about my thoughts on recent TV show’s I’ve consumed. Most shows are new and some are old, but I’m planning on doing this TV Report once every 3 months or so. The format will be simple: Name of the show, followed by one line on whether to watch IN CAPITAL LETTERS, a picture, and then some brief thoughts on the show as a whole. My goal is to get you readers to discover some new cool shows, and skip over ones that are lame as shit. If you know of any shows I’ve missed, hit me up on twitter @salsastoolie with suggestions. Lets do this.

Bloodline: MUST WATCH!
bloodline
This is a Netflix original series and the debut season is thrilling from start to finish. The setting of the show is spectacular in the Florida Keys, and the action will rope you in by episode 3. The star of the series is some unknown dude along with the guy who Played Coach Taylor in Friday Night Lights (another must watch show btw).Both actors crush it and it’s amazing, so watch the show and thank me later.

Mad Men season 7 (part one): TERRIBLE!
mad men 7
Mad Men is a weird show. At first I liked it, but then it got really boring, and quite frankly- I hate all the characters in the show except Don(the main guy) and Christina Hendrix. Hendrix is an absolute bombshell in this series, and she always dressed in a tight outfit highlighting her curves (which kept me watching). The rest of the series is so-so, but this season is terrible. I guess they broke it into two parts for the final season, but it’s just not working for me. I’ve lost all interest in this show.

The Wire: BEST SHOW OF ALL TIME!
wire
I just wrapped up re-watching the wire on HBO from start to finish for a second time. I forgot how awesome this show was. Just an absolute gem of a show from start to finish. I didn’t really like season 5 as much as seasons 1-4, but it still doesn’t detract from the greatness of this show. It’s hard to believe it came out more than 12 years ago, but it’s awesome. The character Omar, may be my favorite character of all time in any show or movie. Bold statement? Oh indeed. Omar comin’ yo!

Fresh Off the Boat: BEST SITCOM NOBODY KNOWS ABOUT YET!
fresh off the boat
Move over Modern Family, hello FOTB. I found out about this show randomly through twitter, and actually ended up really enjoying it. The premise of the show is really funny, because it follows a chubby little Asian kid that loves hip hop music. The family is forced to move to Florida when his dad wants to open a restaurant down in Orlando. The show isn’t afraid to push the stereotypes of Asian culture, but does it in a funny way. This show is much better than Modern Family, and will definitely provide you with more laughs.

Better Call Saul: HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!
saul1
I can’t remember more hype around a show than this one. I remember reading about how the show was one of the first to sign on for a second season before the 1st episode even aired- and boy what a mistake that was. The plot lines are really stupid, and there is almost no action in the first 5-6 episodes. It’s almost as if they spent so much time trying to tie in little details from Breaking Bad, that they forgot to develop good story for the actual show. Colossal disappointment from all parties involved as far as I’m concerned. I’m still going to tune in for the outside chance that this has of getting better in season 2, but this is no longer ‘must see TV’ as many would lead you to believe.

Peaky Blinders: MIXED THOUGHTS!
peaky blinders
This was a tough show for me. I watched it, and I’m just not sure I enjoyed it that much. Not bad, some cool scenes- Thomas Shelby was a badass and his chick is cute, but something just seemed missing for me. There’s two 6 episode season on Netflix, and the first season was better than the second. Some people rave about how this is one of the best shows on Netflix, and I think I watched it with the wrong expectations. Worth a watch if you have some extra time or a lazy Sunday on your hands. Go in with low expectations and you’ll love it.

House of Cards (Season 3): LET DOWN CITY!
hoc1
House of Cards was awesome for the 1st two seasons, but they really dropped the ball on this one. I wrote a blog about being pumped about Season 3, but it ended up having almost no action. Frank is off his game and Claire is a bitch. Nothing interesting happens until the 10th episode, and the storylines are just not as good as the 1st two seasons. Very forgettable. I honestly don’t think it’s even worth watching.

Always Sunny in Philadelphia (Seasons 8 & 9): BEST COMEDY SHOW OUT THERE!
always sunny 9
I LOVE Always Sunny. This continues to be one of the most under the radar shows for me. People always talk about the Office, Seinfeld, Arrested Development, and others, but Always Sunny beats those for me. The humor is over the top, but the cast makes it great. This is the perfect show to fall asleep to in my opinion. The re-watchability of this show is why I enjoy it more than the others. All the seasons are great- I own 1-5 on DVD (the golden age of the show) but I recently caught up on season 8-9 and they were very strong as well. Not often a show last more than 6 seasons this day in age. They’ve been around for 9, and that should tell you all you need to know right there.

Unbreakable- TERRIBLE. SKIP THIS SHOW.
unbreakable
A girl I knew ranted and raved about this show, and practically begged me to watch it. She finally broke me down and I checked it out. The concept of the show is very good. 4 Women trapped in a bunker for 15 years come out and are stuck in the 90’s, but the execution is just not there. Tina Fey is one of the writers, and the show watches a lot like 30 rock, with joke after joke after joke after joke. I’ll admit that they do have a few zingers, but you may miss it because you’re getting lost in the next joke. The main character is painfully awkward, and the show just doesn’t have much flow. I could only get through about 8 of the 12 twenty minute episodes before I said “fuck this I’m out”. Still love you Tina Fey 😉

True Detective: AWESOME SHOW- MUST WATCH!
td
Great opening season. Love the cast of Woody Harelson and Matthew McConnahey. This show was awesome, suspensful, and mysterious. I never was quite sure where it was going to end up. This was one of the very few shows that actually lived up to the hype for me. I caught on a little late, but it’s definitely one of the top 5 recently released shows that you should check out. This one will not waste your time.

Parks and Rec: SURPRISINGLY GOOD!
par
This show is 6 seasons, and they just wrapped up season 6. The last season wasn’t really the best, but the other 5 were surprisingly well done. I didn’t really understand this show when I would catch random episodes on Thursdays back in the day. I’d recommend starting at season 1 episode one, because I feel like you really need a good foundation of these characters before you can enjoy them for who they are. I like Amy Poehler even though a bunch of people hate her. The best part of the show is Ron Swanson who steals almost every show. I did not expect to like this show, but now I’ve seen every episode, and appreciate if for what it is. A few notches below the Office and on par with Community in my book (and I liked community too).

Fargo: MUST WATCH!
fargo
Just an all-around great show. How can you not love Billy-Bob Thorton? He crushes his role in this show as a stone cold serial murderer. Aces! This is right up there with True Dectective and Bloodline as shows you should really check out if you haven’t seen them yet. It’s actually pretty cool that it’s set up in North Dakota, because you don’t get many shows with that type of setting. There is only one season so far, but you need to watch it, because it’s phenomenal.

Californication: STRAIGHT GARBAGE- SKIP THIS CRAP FEST!
Californication
This is the perfect example of a show that roped me in during the first season, and every season after that was a courtesy watch. Season 2 was still watchable, but then it went off the damn rails for season 3-7. I could not stand Hank’s bitchy little kid, and his wife really irritated me. Hank is the only reason to watch the show because he plows random strange everywhere he goes. The final season was an abomination.

Silicon Valley: NOT BAD, GOOD POTENTIAL!
silicon valley
The jury is still out on this show. The first season was just 8 episodes, but I still believe that it has great potential. I actually liked the storyline, but i didn’t really care for the actors. Yes they’re nerds, but I actually like the whole tech-angle aspect to a TV show, I just hope they can make it a little better in future seasons. They can go a lot of different directions, and I’m excited to see this show hit it’s stride in the upcoming season(s). Hoping for the best.

Scandal- HOT START, FADES FAST! WATCH IT WITH A CHICK!
scandal
This is a good show to watch with a chick. You’ll both enjoy it, because that’s how it’s designed. It’s a little odd, because the 1st season (which is awesome) is only 7 episodes and the second season (also really good) is 22 episodes. Since then, seasons 3 and 4 are 18 episodes, I’ve watched through the first three seasons, but they started losing me mid-way through season 3. I have yet to catch back up, but I find myself not really caring if or when I do. Usually once I’ve committed to two seasons of a show I’m in till the end no matter what. Not with this show. Take that for what it’s worth.

Orange is the New Black (Season 2): THEY FUCKED UP A GREAT SHOW FAST. SKIP THIS GARBAGE!
oitnb
I think this show was one of the 1st original Netflix shows, and the first season was pretty damn captivating. Boy did they fuck this show up. I was pumped to see the second season, and I could barely get through it. The first season flew by, and the second was a struggle the whole time. I’d probably skip the series all together because of how crappy that second season was. This show is done.

Workaholics: ALL OVER THE PLACE, BUT STILL PRETTY FUNNY!
workaholics
Very tough show to get a read this show. It’s your classic stoner TV show with a lot of slapstick humor. Some episodes have great context and are highly relatable, while other episodes are ridiculous and painfully unfunny. Overall, this is another show that’s great to put on if you don’t really feel like paying much attention to it. Overall I’d say check out the show, to see if it appeals to you. Just know that your going to get some great ones and some bad ones. Most episodes however will give you a few chuckles, and that’s all I can ask for from a comedy series.

That wraps up this inaugural edition of Salsa’s Trimonthly TV Report. Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Salsa’s Trimonthly TV Report”

Leave a Reply

